Using a small number of dense harmonies and extended periods of silence, Rupture explores the ideas of continuity and direction in music.  The aggressive and sharp gestures which open the work immediately begin to deteriorate and alternate freely with passages of softer and often more static material.

Instrumentation: 2 violins, viola, and cello

Duration: ca. 6 minutes

Year composed: 2012

Joel Link, violin

Bryan Lee, violin

Milena Pajaro-van de Stadt, viola

Camden Shaw, cello

PRO ARTE eNsemble (Russia)

Performed live at the Saint Petersburg International New Music Festival