Por la Fuerza las Tierras, which translates to "[take] the lands by force," was commissioned in 2010 by flautist Alejandro Escuer and the Mexican ensemble ONIX Ensamble for its Viva Zapata! concert celebrating the centennial of the Mexican Revolution.  As its title suggests, the work exhibits aggressive and relentless energy in passages of both struggle and celebration.  After an extended moment of respite in the middle of the work, the music gradually gains momentum again and pushes energetically forward to the end.  Given the occasion for which the work was written, both the rhythmic and melodic material are greatly indebted to various Mexican musical styles.

Instrumentation: flute, B-flat clarinet, violin, cello, and piano

Duration: ca. 12 minutes

Year composed: 2010

Patrick Tsuji, flute

Natalie Parker, clarinet

Tracy Wu, violin

Lachezar Kostov, cello

Jeewon Lee, piano